“Very few noblemen in Europe and none in England are leading a life as marvelous, magnificent and noble as that of the Duke of Chandos” wrote Daniel Defoe in 1725.

It was in 1717, during his stay in London, that Georg Friedrich Händel (1685-1759) was hired by James Brydges, the wealthy Duke of Chandos, who gathered around him a real court including an orchestra and a vocal ensemble. During the two short years of Händel’s stay, he composed two dramatic works (“Acis and Galatea” and «Esther») as well as a «Te Deum» and eleven anthems (or hymns) which are known as the “Chandos Anthems“.

These magnificent works manifest a sublime force and dignity that perfectly reflect the confident and hedonistic spirit of the time, as well as the splendor and nobleness that reigned around the Duke of Chandos. They remain relatively forgotten however, and for unknown reasons are absent from concert programs.

Anthem VIII. «O come let us sing unto the Lord» (Venez, chantons avec allégresse au Seigneur), HWV 253

Anthem X. «The Lord is my light» (Le Seigneur est ma lumière), HWV 255

Genève Baroque is pleased to share this marvelous music, not very known but still noble, beautiful and enchanting


First violin: Sue-Ying Koang
Second violin: Vanessa Monteventi
Cello: Marieanne Lee
Oboe and recorder 1: Vivian Berg
Oboe and recorder 2: Estelle Thévenoz
Harpsichord: Elena Doncel
Organ: Fabio Fabio Falcone

Les Choristes

Tenor soloist /
Mathias Vidal (1) (2)

Constance Briot
Florence Grasset (1)
Mathilde Monfray (2)
Eva Soler

Christophe Carré
Lionel Desmeules
Rodrigo Sossa (1)
Jerôme Vavasseur



Pierre Arpin
Jaime Caicompai
Augustin Laudet 
Nicolas Wild

Alvaro Etcheverry
David Gassmann
Pierre Héritier
Benjamin Weeks

(1) Soloists, Anthem VIII
(2) Soloists, Anthem X